Who/Jimi Hendrix – Battle of the Who and Jimi Hendrix 1971 Japanese 2 LP “Battle Can”


A copy of the rare Japan-only set Battle of the Who and Jimi Hendrix, with one album by each packed in a film canister.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a Japanese double compilation album featuring one album each by The Who and Jimi Hendrix, and officially titled Battle of the Who & Jimi Hendrix, complete with all inserts.

It’s usually referred to by collectors as the “battle can,” as the albums are packaged in a metal film canister.  This was part of a series by Nippon Grammophon, known as the “Rock & Rock Battle” series, each of which featured one album by two different artists, pitting them in a “battle” against one another.

About this copy: This copy of The Battle of the Who & Jimi Hendrix is 1971 Japanese pressing on the Polydor label, packaged in a film can as shown in the attached images.

The can is VG+, with slight wear and a small dent.  This set was issued without an obi.

The records are M- with one or two spindle marks on the labels, but no marks on the vinyl.  Clean discs!

Also included in the “battle can”:

  • Two 12″ foam inserts to protect the contents
  • A round booklet with song titles, information and lyrics (in English and Japanese)
  • A promotional flyer for the first album by Mandrill
  • An additional paper insert

A beautiful copy of a scarce item that should appeal to collectors of either Jimi Hendrix or The Who.

Background: Japan is known for producing high quality records, along with albums that feature unique compilations and covers.  One rarely encounters anything as strange as Nippon Grammophon’s “Rock & Rock Battle” series, which was issued in 1970/1971.

These two record sets consisted of one record each by two different artists, packaged in a large film canister such as what might be used for a 35mm theatrical film.   There are ten different titles in the series, but the can featuring The Who and Jimi Hendrix is one of the more sought out examples of the series.  (There are actually two different Who/Hendrix battle cans; this is the one containing studio recordings by Hendrix.)

Both discs are compilations:

Track listing:

The Who (MP 9365)

  • Armenia City in the Sky
  • I’m a Boy
  • Magic Bus
  • The Last Time
  • I Can See For Miles
  • Pinball Wizard
  • Summertime Blues
  • Sensation
  • I Need You
  • Call Me Lightning
  • Run Run Run
  • See Me, Feel Me

Jimi Hendrix (MP 9366)

  • Foxy Lady
  • Manic Depression
  • Can You See Me
  • 51st Anniversary
  • Stars That Play With Laughing Sam’s Dice
  • Fire
  • All Along the Watchtower
  • Little Wing
  • Gipsy Eyes
  • The Wind Cries Mary
  • Hey Joe
  • Highway Chile

This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a new window)

paypal credit

Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: Polydor
Catalog Number:
MP 9365/66
Year of Release: 1971
Format: Stereo
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! We will reply within 24 hours. Check your spam folder if you do not receive a reply.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below:
Please wait...

Additional information

Weight 38 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 1.25 in