Carole King/Little Eva- The Dimension Dolls – 1963 U.S. white label promotional LP


Free U.S. shipping!  An original U.S. white label promotional copy of the 1963 album The Dimension Dolls featuring Carole King, Little Eva, and the Cookies.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is an original U.S. white label promotional copy of the 1963 album The Dimension Dolls, Volume 1 featuring Carole King, Little Eva, and the Cookies.

This rare album features four tracks each by Little Eva, Carole King, and the Cookies.

About this copy: This copy of The Dimension Dolls is a 1963 pressing on the Dimension Records label.

This album is mono; there was no stereo issue.

The cover is a weak VG+ with light ring wear and and some foxing on the right hand edge.  Overall, it’s quite clean and has no writing or splits.

The white label promo disc is M-.  It has a couple of very faint sleeve scuffs as though it’s been removed from the paper inner sleeve once or twice, but there are no signs of play.

A gorgeous copy of a very rare record and the only copy of this album, stock or promotional, that we’ve ever seen.

Background: Dimension Records was founded in New York in 1962 by Don Kirshner.   While the label had a fair amount of success with singles, including hits by Little Eva (“The Loco-Motion”) and the Cookies (“Chains”), the label only released two albums – one by Little Eva, and this album, The Dimension Dolls Volume 1.

There was no Volume 2.

The Dimension Dolls Volume 1 featured four tracks each by the Cookies, Carole King, and Little Eva:

Tracks are:

  • The Cookies Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad (About My Baby)
  • Carole King Crying In The Rain
  • Little Eva The Loco-Motion
  • The Cookies On Broadway
  • Little Eva Keep Your Hands Off My Baby
  • Carole King Breaking Up Is Hard To Do
  • The Cookies Foolish Little Girl
  • Carole King It Might As Well Rain Until September
  • Little Eva Up On The Roof
  • The Cookies Chains
  • Carole King Oh! Oh! It Started All Over Again
  • Little Eva Uptown gave The Dimension Dolls Volume 1 a 3 star review:

There are four big hits here — Little Eva’s “The Loco-Motion,” the Cookies’ “Chains,” and “Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad (About My Baby),” and King’s “It Might As Well Rain Until September” — and while those are all classics or near-classics, they’ve been easier to find over the years on numerous other anthologies. The album’s more interesting to collectors for the rare material, particularly the three other King tracks, including a demo of “Crying in the Rain,” which has a sparser arrangement than the hit version of the tune by the Everly Brothers; “Breaking Up Is Hard to Do,” far better known in its hit version by Neil Sedaka; and the loping “It Started All Over Again.” While the Cookies’ takes of “On Broadway” and “Foolish Little Girl” are justly better known via the hit renditions by the Drifters and Shirelles respectively, Little Eva’s versions of “Up on the Roof” and “Uptown” aren’t as dispensable: “Up on the Roof” predates the Drifters’ hit cover, while “Uptown” has a less ornate arrangement than the Crystals’ hit reading of the song, and is worth hearing in its own right.

This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a new window)

paypal credit

Country of origin: U.S.
Size: 12″
Record Label: Dimension
Catalog Number:
DLP 6001
Year of Release: 1963
Format: Mono
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! We will reply within 24 hours. Check your spam folder if you do not receive a reply.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below:
Please wait...

Additional information

Weight 10 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 0.2 in