Various (Zombies, Procol Harum, Tinkerbell’s Fairydust) – The World of Hits Japan LP with obi


Free U.S. shipping!  A copy of the rare Japan-only various artists compilation LP The World of Hits, featuring tracks from the Zombies, Procol Harum, and Tinkerbell’s Fairydust.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a copy of the rare 1969 Japan-only compilation album The World of Hits, including the original obi and lyric insert.

Along with tracks by the Zombies, Them, Procol Harum, and others, this album includes a track from the UK band Tinkerbell’s Fairydust, whose only album was unreleased.

About this copy: This copy of The World of Hits is a 1969 Japanese pressing on the London label.

The cover is VG- with a lot of foxing on the back and a 7″ (10 cm) repaired split at the top edge and a 9″ (22 cm) repaired slit at the spine.  Aside from the repaired splits, the cover presents well.

The obi is VG, with quite a bit of foxing and repaired tears at the top and bottom edges.

The disc is VG++ and close to M- on side one, with a number of spindle marks on the label.  Side two is VG+ with a couple of light scuffs.  It’s a clean disc that has been well cared for.

A nice, if imperfect, copy of a very rare LP and the only copy we’ve ever seen.  This album is not listed on Discogs.

Background: Released only in Japan in 1969, The World of Hits is a collection of tracks by various British artists of the 1960s.

The highlight is “Twenty Ten” by Tinkerbell’s Fairydust, a British band whose only album was canceled shortly before release.  Test pressings of that album sell for thousands of dollars.

The album also includes tracks by Them, Lulu, the Zombies, Procol Harum, Los Bravos, and the Nashville Teens.

Tracks are:

  • Procol Harum -= A Whiter Shade of Pale
  • Tinkerbell’s Fairydust – Twenty Ten
  • The Bachelors – The Sound of Silence
  • Bobbie and Vera – I Know That He Knows
  • The Nashville Teens – Tobacco Road
  • Los Bravos – Black is Black
  • Pinky & the Fellas – Manchester & Liverpool
  • The Zombies – I Love You
  • Neil MacArthur – She’s Not There
  • Lulu – Shout
  • Amen Corner – Bend Me, Shape Me
  • Them – Gloria

You can listen to “Twenty Ten” by Tinkerbell’s Fairydust here:

This item is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a new window)

paypal credit

Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: London
Catalog Number:
Year of Release: 1969
Format: Stereo
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Additional information

Weight 11 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 0.2 in