Rush – Rare American Forces Radio show 1974

A rare radio show featuring Rush, promoting their first album and issued for American Forces radio.



You save $30.00 (20%)!

Offered for sale is a rare radio show created for the American Forces Radio and Television Series (AFRTS) and featuring tracks from the first album by Rush.

In the 1960s and 1970s, there were a number of radio programs created for the benefit of government agencies and the American military.  Many U.S. military bases abroad had their own radio networks, and these programs were created to give them access to music they might not otherwise be able to obtain or play.

One of these programs was a series of albums created for the American Forces Radio and Television Series (AFRTS), featuring tracks from then-new albums by both new and major artists.  For some reason, shows from this particular program are fairly scarce and rarely turn up for sale.

Unlike most radio shows produced by or for the U.S. government, this one features no narration, interviews, or commercials, only music.

As these albums were largely intended for temporary play, most of them have long since been discarded.

About this copy: This untitled radio show features four tracks from the 1974 debut LP by Rush:

  • Need Some Love
  • Here Again
  • In the Mood
  • Before and After

Along with five tracks by the long-forgotten band Bad Habits:

  • Open Your Eyes/Live for Each Other
  • You’ve Heard It All Before
  • Bad Habits
  • DMT
  • Love You Too

The album was issued without a cover on a custom AFRTS label and will ship in a plain white cover.  The record is VG+, with a couple of light marks.  It clearly has only been played a couple of times.

A nice copy of a fascinating Rush rarity.


Country of origin:
Record Label:
Catalog Number:
Year of Release:
Share this:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather