Ernest Ansermet – The Royal Ballet Gala Performances sealed Classic Records Clarity 45 RPM box set


A sealed copy of the Classic Records 9 disc, Clarity vinyl, 45 RPM box set of the Royal Ballet Gala Performances by Ernest Ansermet and the Royal Opera House Orchestra.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a still sealed 9 disc box set of The Royal Ballet Gala Performances, by Ernest Ansermet and the Royal Opera House Orchestra, pressed by Classic Records on 200 gram Clarity vinyl, cut at 45 RPM for maximum fidelity.

About this copy: The copy of The Royal Ballet Gala Performances listed here is the final release of this title from Classic Records, issued in 2009 or so. This is a nine record set, cut at 45 RPM for optimum sound quality and pressed on single-sided, 200 gram Clarity vinyl.

Previous issues were pressed on 180 gram black vinyl and 200 gram black vinyl, but the final pressing was released on their improved Clarity vinyl, which was more or less clear in appearance.

This copy has the black box; Classic also released this version of the album in a red box.  There is no difference between the two pressings other than the color of the box.

The box is still sealed in the original shrink wrap; the records are presumably new and unplayed (and should be individually sealed inside the box.)  There is a sticker on the shrink wrap that says “Classic Records 200 gram Clarity SV-P II Super Vinyl Profile.”

There is a break in the wrap on the top edge of the box (see photo) and a small (3/4″ or so) hole in the wrap at the spine.  The box appears to be M- and has no dents or wear.

There is a paper obi wrapped horizontally around the box that says, “Classic Records Clarity Vinyl 45 RPM Series.”

A beautiful copy of an album that is absolutely stunning to hear.

Background: During their fifteen years or so of pressing high quality records for the audiophile market, Classic Records released a number of highly regarded and collectible releases. None, however, are as eagerly sought out by audiophiles as their issue of The Royal Ballet Gala Performances. Recorded in 1957 (or 1959; sources vary) and engineered by the legendary Kenneth Wilkinson, The Royal Ballet was originally released by RCA Records as LDS-6065.

This title is perhaps the rarest of all the classical Living Stereo titles ever released by RCA and is certainly the most expensive, with mint copies often selling for more than $3000. Once you’ve heard the recording, however, you’ll understand why. One reviewer called it “the stuff of which dreams are made.”

Yes, it’s that good.

From another review at Audiophilia Magazine online: The recorded sound is simply amazing! Lustrous is one word that comes to mind, accurate is another. Woodwind and strings glow and resonate, transporting this listener to a time when simpler recording was better. Brass ring out thrillingly and percussion effects are very musical.

Classic Records released The Royal Ballet Gala Performances a number of times, with pressings at both 33 1/3 and 45 RPM and record weights of both 180 and 200 grams.

Track listing:

Disc 1

1. Nutcracker Suite – March
2. Nutcracker Suite – Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
3. Nutcracker Suite – Arabian Dance
4. Nutcracker Suite – Chinese Dance

Disc 2

5. Nutcracker Suite – Dance Of The Toy Flutes
6. Nutcracker Suite – Waltz Of The Flowers

Disc 3

7. La Boutique Fantasque – Tarantella
8. La Boutique Fantasque – Andante Mosso
9. La Boutique Fantasque – Can-Can

Disc 4

10. Coppelia – Introduction (Allegro Marcato) And Mazurka – Act 1
11. Coppelia – Introduction (Andante ) And Waltz – Act 1
12. Coppelia – Czardas – Act 1
13. Coppelia – Valse De La Poupee – Act 2

Disc 5
14. Giselle – Introduction And Waltz – Act 1
15. Giselle – Pas De Deux And Variation – Act 2

Disc 6

1. Swan Lake – Dance Of The Little Swans (Pas De Quatre) – Act 2
2. Swan Lake – Pas De Deux – Act 2
3. Swan Lake – Waltz – Act 2

Disc 7

4. Carnaval – Pierror
5. Carnaval – Reconnaissance
6. Carnaval – Aveu
7. Carnaval – Pantalon Et Columbine

Disc 8

8. Sleeping Beauty – Introduction – The Lilac Fairy – Prologue
9. Sleeping Beauty – Rose Adagio – Pase D’Action – Act 1

Disc 9

10. Sleeping Beauty – Waltz – Act 1
11. Les Sylphides – Overture: Prelude In A Major, Opus 28, No. 7
12. Les Sylphides – Mazurka In C Major, Opus 67, No. 3
13. Les Sylphides – Grande Valse Brillante In E Flat Major, Opus 18


This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest (conditions apply.) Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a popup window)


Country of origin: U.S.
Size: 12″
Record Label: RCA/Classic Records
Catalog Number:
LDS 6065
Year of Release: 2009
Format: Stereo
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Additional information

Weight 160 oz
Dimensions 14 × 14 × 6 in
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! Your offer has been received and will be processed as soon as possible.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below.
If you do not receive a reply in 24 hours, check your spam folder.


Please wait...