Elton John – Special DJ Album 1976 Japan promo-only LP

A nice copy of Elton John's Special DJ Album, issued in Japan as a promotional item only.


Offered for sale is a copy of the Japanese promo-only compilation album Special DJ Album of Elton John’s Brilliant Hits, by Elton John.

In 1976, a number of previously out of print Elton John albums were reissued there, and to commemorate that and to promote sales and airplay, DJM Records released a compilation album intended only for Japanese radio or in-store play.

Most Japanese promotional albums are limited to 100-200 copies, as the need for promotional issues of English language material has always been rather modest there.

Tracks on this LP are:

  • Philadelphia Freedom
  • The Bitch Is Back
  • Daniel
  • Honky Cat
  • Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  • Skyline Pigeon
  • Madman Across The Water
  • Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me
  • Lucy In The Sky With Diamond
  • Crocodile Rock
  • Your Song
  • Rocket Man
  • Country Comfort
  • Bennie And The Jets
  • Border Song
  • Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting
  • I Saw Her Standing There

The LP features liner notes and song titles in Japanese on the cover though the songs are listed in English on the record label.  On the label, the full title of the album is listed as The 7th Anniversary of Elton’s Debut – Special DJ Album of Elton John’s Brilliant Hits.

The cover is VG++, with a bit of foxing but no significant wear.

The record is M- and may be unplayed, though it has a couple of very minor sleeve scuffs.

This LP was issued without an insert and without an obi.

A beautiful copy of a very rare Elton John LP.

This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a popup window)

Country of origin:
Record Label:
Catalog Number:
Year of Release:
Share this:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather