Chicago – Starsound Collection rare German half speed mastered LP


A rare German half speed mastered compilation LP by Chicago called Starsound Collection.

1 in stock

SKU: SKU-3351 Categories: , , , Tags: , , ,


Offered for sale is a rare half-speed mastered audiophile pressing of Starsound Collection, a compilation LP by Chicago that was released only in Germany.

About this copy: This copy of Starsound Collection is an original German half-speed mastered pressing, issued through Musik Express in 1983.

The cover is VG++; it’s close to M-, but there’s a stain on the front in the upper right hand corner where a price sticker has been removed.

An insert with photos and liner notes (in German) is included.

The record is M- and looks to have had little, if any, play.

A nice copy of a rare Chicago LP and the only copy of this one we’ve ever had.

Background:  Starsound Collection was a short-lived series of compilation albums that were released in Germany through Musik Express, a music magazine.  Artists included Mike Batt, Leonard Cohen, Janis Joplin, Fleetwood Mac, Chicago and others.

All of the titles in the series were half-speed mastered audiophile pressings.

From the back cover (translated from German):

This extremely difficult, electromechanical process has a significant influence on the quality of the finished plate. The normal cutting process happens at 331/3 revolutions per minute. This is done at half speed with the “half-speed cut.” The associated advantages such as better control of the groove dimensions, improvement in the frequency response and the transient response as well as reduction of the distortion result in a surprisingly better sound experience.

The Starsound Collection title by Chicago seems to be one of the harder titles in the series to find (the Leonard Cohen LP is seemingly everywhere.)

Tracks are:

  • Wishing You Were Here
  • (I’ve Been) Searchin’ So Long
  • Saturday in the Park
  • Another Rainy Day in New York City
  • 25 or 6 to 4
  • I’m a Man
  • If You Leave Me Now
  • No Tell Lover
  • Baby What a Big Surprise
  • Call on Me
  • Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
  • Feelin’ Stronger Every Day


Additional information

Weight 24 oz
Dimensions 15 × 13 × 1 in