Beatles – Second Album 1967 Japan red vinyl mono LP with obi


Free U.S. shipping!  A 1967 Japanese red vinyl mono pressing of The Beatles Second Album by the Beatles, including the original obi.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a red vinyl mono Japanese pressing of The Beatles Second Album by the Beatles, including the original obi.

Note: This album is a completely different album from the U.S. LP with the same title and is also a different album from the 1971 Japanese reissue (which was the same as the U.S. LP.)

About this copy: This mono LP is a 1967 pressing on the Odeon label of an album that was originally released in 1964.

The album is titled Beatles No. 2 on the back cover.

The cover is VG++ and very close to M-.  It has no wear, but a faint disc impression and a slight stain near the spine where a sticker was removed.

The obi is VG++ with a few minor wrinkles.  The “hojyuhyo,” or reorder tag, has been removed.

The insert and envelope-style inner sleeve are M-.

The red vinyl disc is M- on side one and VG++ (and very close to M-) on side two, with a couple of faint sleeve scuffs.

There are a number of spindle marks on the labels, but they vinyl is very clean.

A beautiful copy of a rare Beatles LP.

Background: The Beatles Second Album was released several times in Japan, with major differences in covers and track listings.

The original pressings were released in June 1964, with the subtitle (Beatles No. 2), a single-pocket cover, and these tracks in mono:

  • Can’t Buy Me Love
  • Do You Want To Know A Secret
  • Thank You Girl
  • A Taste Of Honey
  • It Won’t Be Long
  • I Wanna Be Your Man
  • There’s A Place
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Misery
  • Boys
  • Devil In Her Heart
  • Not A Second Time
  • Money
  • Till There Was You

That version was released again in 1966, 1967, and 1970.

In 1971, another album was released with the same title – The Beatles Second Album.  This version had a gatefold cover, was pressed in stereo, and contained the same tracks as the American pressings of The Beatles Second Album:

  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Thank You Girl
  • You Really Got a Hold on Me
  • Devil in Her Heart
  • Money (That’s What I Want)
  • You Can’t Do That
  • Long Tall Sally
  • I Call Your Name
  • Please Mr. Postman
  • I’ll Get You
  • She Loves You

Confusing?  Indeed.  This last version was part of the “U.S. Edition Series” and was only issued one time in Japan.

This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a new window)

paypal credit

Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: Odeon
Catalog Number:
Year of Release: 1967
Format: Mono
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! We will reply within 24 hours. Check your spam folder if you do not receive a reply.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below:
Please wait...

Additional information

Weight 10 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 0.2 in