Beatles – Meet the Beatles 1969 red vinyl Japan-only mono LP with obi


Free U.S. shipping!  A 1969 Japan-only red vinyl mono pressing of Meet the Beatles, including the original obi.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a Japanese red vinyl mono pressing of Meet the Beatles, including the original obi.

Note: This 14 track LP was unique to Japan and has a different track listing from the U.S. LP with the same title and cover and was issued only in mono.

About this copy: This copy of Meet the Beatles is a 1969 Japanese pressing on the Apple label of an album that was originally released in 1964.  The version of Meet the Beatles with this track listing was issued only in Japan.

The cover is VG++ and close to M-, with a minor crease on the front cover and slight foxing on the back.  There is a very tiny dent in the upper right hand corner.

The obi is  VG++ with a few minor wrinkles on the back.  The “hojyuhyo” (reorder tag) is still attached.  The lyric insert is VG++ with slight discoloration from age.  The black paper inner sleeve is M- with no splits.

The red vinyl disc is M- and looks unplayed.  Clean disc!

A beautiful copy of a scarce Beatles LP and the only copy of this version that we’ve ever had for sale.

Background:  The Beatles were immensely popular in Japan, and over the years, their Japanese record label released all of the U.S. Capitol Albums, all of the UK versions of the band’s work and a number of Japan-only releases.

Meet the Beatles is one of those Japan-only titles.  While the album shares a title and cover art with the band’s first American album for Capitol, the track listing is completely different.  Unlike most Japanese Beatles releases, this version of the title was issued only in mono with a standard (non-gatefold) cover.

Adding to the confusion is the fact that a version that was identical to the U.S. version was also released in Japan, and that version was released in stereo with a gatefold cover.

Track listing on this LP:

  • I Want to Hold Your Hand
  • She Loves You
  • From Me to You
  • Twist and Shout
  • Love Me Do
  • Baby It’s You
  • Don’t Bother Me
  • Please Please Me
  • I Saw Her Standing There
  • P.S. I Love You
  • Little Child
  • All My Loving
  • Hold Me Tight
  • Please Mister Postman


Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: Apple
Catalog Number:
Year of Release: 1969
Format: Mono
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! We will reply within 24 hours. Check your spam folder if you do not receive a reply.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below:
Please wait...

Additional information

Weight 8 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 0.2 in