Beatles – Collection of Oldies Japan red vinyl LP with obi

$150.00 $120.00

An original Japanese pressing of A Collection of Beatles Oldies, pressed on red vinyl and including the original obi.

This item has been sold.


Offered for sale is an original red vinyl Japanese pressing of A Collection of Beatles Oldies, complete with original obi.

About this copy: This copy of A Collection of Beatles Oldies is an original 1967 pressing on the Odeon label, and pressed on “Everclean” red vinyl.

The cover is M-.  The obi is M- and the “hojyuhyo”, or re-order tag, is still attached, though wrinkled.

The lyric insert is missing.

The red vinyl disc is VG++, with a few minor scuffs from removing the record from the inner sleeve.  It’s close to M-.

A nice copy of an album we don’t see too often.

Background: While Capitol Records made sure there were Beatles album releases on a regular basis in the United States, albums were less frequent in the UK.

Their label there saw that there would be no new product to offer for the Christmas season in 1966, so they put together a compilation titled A Collection of Beatles Oldies.  While the album was released in a number of countries, it has never been issued in the United States.

Track listing:

  • She Loves You
  • From Me to You
  • We Can Work It Out
  • Help!
  • Michelle
  • Yesterday
  • I Feel Fine
  • Yellow Submarine
  • Can’t Buy Me Love
  • Bad Boy
  • Day Tripper
  • A Hard Day’s Night
  • Ticket to Ride
  • Paperback Writer
  • Eleanor Rigby
  • I Want to Hold Your Hand gave A Collection of Beatles Oldies a 3 star review:

It was Christmas time, 1966. … EMI issued this stopgap collection of 16 older recordings for the European market, in effect creating the first “Beatles Greatest Hits” album. Actually, it’s not a predictable hits anthology, for it omits obvious hit singles like “Please Please Me” and “Love Me Do,” and includes popular album cuts like “Yesterday” and “Michelle” that were not issued as singles in the U.K. But it doesn’t skimp on quantity, offering 16 songs instead of the usual 14, taking the saga all the way up to Revolver, and collecting some British singles into album format for the first time. …Today the album seems like a decent summing up of the Beatles’ achievement just before the plunge into “Strawberry Fields” and Sgt. Pepper, though obviously not taking in the whole story.

This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest (conditions apply.) Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a popup window)

paypal credit

Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: Odon
Catalog Number:
Year of Release: 1967
Format: Stereo
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Additional information

Weight 11 oz
Dimensions 12.4 × 12.4 × 0.2 in