Beach Boys – Live in London red vinyl Japan LP with obi


A rare original red vinyl Japanese pressing of Live in London by the Beach Boys, complete with obi.

1 in stock


Offered for sale is an original red vinyl Japanese pressing of Live in London by the Beach Boys, complete with original obi.

About this copy:  This copy of Live in London is an original 1970 Japanese issue, pressed on “Everclean” red vinyl.  The lyric insert and original obi are included.

The cover is VG++, with faint wear at the edges and traces of ring wear on the back cover.  The obi is VG+, with some wrinkling on the back.  The “hojyuhyo”, or reorder tag, has been removed.  The lyric insert is included.

The red vinyl disc is M- and aside from a single spindle mark, appears to be unplayed.

A beautiful copy of a very rare Beach Boys item.

Background: By 1970, sales of albums by the Beach Boys were dropping considerably in the U.S. but remained strong in the UK.  Because of this, Capitol Records opted to release a live album in the UK of a concert that had been recorded in London in December 1968.

Capitol opted not to release the album, Live in London in the U.S., though it was released in 1976 under the odd title of Beach Boys ’69.

Live in London was also issued in Japan, where it had a gatefold cover with completely different artwork from either the original UK or the later U.S. release. gave Live in London a 3 1/2 star review:

Though their studio output is the stuff of legend, the Beach Boys’ live performances aren’t as familiar to the casual fan. Live in London (also released as Beach Boys ’69) represented the second live set from the band, after 1964’s teen-scream Beach Boys Concert. By the turn of the 1960s into the ’70s, the group was finally rising to the task of translating its lush, layered sound into a live arena.

Tracks are:

Side one

  • “Darlin'” – 2:41
  • “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” (Brian Wilson/Tony Asher/Love) – 1:53
  • “Sloop John B” (Trad./Arr. Brian Wilson) – 2:30
  • “California Girls” – 2:19
  • “Do It Again” – 2:47
  • “Wake the World” (Brian Wilson/Al Jardine) – 2:26
  • “Aren’t You Glad” – 3:09

Side two

  • “Bluebirds Over the Mountain” (Ersel Hickey) – 2:53
  • “Their Hearts Were Full of Spring” (Bobby Troup) – 2:49
  • “Good Vibrations” – 4:36
  • “God Only Knows” (Brian Wilson/Asher) – 3:27
  • “Barbara Ann” (Fred Fassert) – 2:32


This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest (conditions apply.) Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a popup window)

Country of origin: Japan
Size: 12″
Record Label: Capitol
Catalog Number:
Year of Release: 1970
Format: Stereo
Share: Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Additional information

Weight 24 oz
Dimensions 15 × 13 × 1 in
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! Your offer has been received and will be processed as soon as possible.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below.
If you do not receive a reply in 24 hours, check your spam folder.


Please wait...