Animals – All About the Animals Japan-only red vinyl LP with obi


An original red vinyl Japanese pressing of the Animals compilation LP, All About the Animals

1 in stock


Offered for sale is a rare compilation LP by the Animals, All About the Animals, released only in Japan, pressed on red vinyl and including the original obi.

About this copy: This copy of All About the Animals, with a gatefold cover, is pressed on beautiful red vinyl and includes the original lyric insert and original obi.

The record is VG+, with just a couple of light marks and a few spindle marks on the label.  While it has clearly been well cared for, it’s somewhat noisy.

The cover is VG++, with just traces of wear at the corners.  There is a bit of residue on the back cover where a sticker was removed.  The nearly-always-missing obi is M-, and includes the “hojyuhyo”, or reorder tag, which is often missing.

This is a beautiful copy of a record which is often found in terrible condition.

Background: While a number of English-language artists were popular in Japan in the 1960s and 1970s, few of them, aside from the Beatles, sold a significant number of records there.  In the case of most artists, their albums would be released in limited quantities and deleted shortly thereafter and reissued at a later date, if demand warranted it.

Instead of keeping catalog titles in print, the Japanese record companies often released compilation LPs instead, figuring that most Japanese consumers would be happy just to own greatest hits albums.  As a result of this, there were hundreds of unusual compilation LPs by English language artists that were released in Japan only.

The album offered for sale is one such compilation.  All About the Animals was released in 1968, and contains most of the Animals’ biggest hits:

  • House of the Rising Sun
  • Bring it on Home to Me
  • Boom Boom
  • Memphis
  • I’m Crying
  • Baby Let Me Take You Home
  • The Right Time
  • Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • We’ve Gotta Get Out of This Place
  • Blue Feeling
  • Around and Around
  • Gonna Send You Back to Walker
  • Hallelujah I Love Her So
  • It’s My Life


This record is eligible for PayPal Credit financing by PayPal. U.S. customers may choose to pay later at checkout, and may receive up to six months financing with no interest. Click the banner below for more information. (opens in a popup window)

Additional information

Weight 26 oz
Dimensions 15 × 13 × 1 in
  • Selection Required: Select product options above before making new offer.
  • Offer Sent! Your offer has been received and will be processed as soon as possible.
  • Error: There was an error sending your offer, please try again. If this problem persists, please contact us.

Make Offer

To make an offer please complete the form below.
If you do not receive a reply in 24 hours, check your spam folder.


Please wait...